CIF Scholarship

In July 2001 the Executive Board of the Central Iowa Fair originated a livestock banner auction where the champions from each species are represented. The highest bidder receives the banner. In 2009 we added four outstanding non-livestock projects to this auction as well. Each exhibitor receives a percentage of the selling price with the balance going into a grant and scholarship fund that is maintained by the Central Iowa Fair.

The program was originally designed as a grant program for the 4-H clubs and project groups as a way to receive funding for community service or citizenship projects. Each club or group may apply for up to $150 annually. This is done through an application process. They are also expected to have a poster or display during the fair showing how the money was used.

In 2004 scholarships were added to the program. Two $500 scholarships were awarded the first year. Due to the continued success of the auction, in 2006 the scholarships awarded were increased to three $1,000 scholarships. As of this date approximately $30,000 has been awarded to the 4-H youth in Marshall County in grants and scholarships.

This program is changed in 2012.  Instead of having the banner auction there is a Parade of Champions to wrap up the fair. Each species will be allowed to send in both the Champions and Reserve winners of their show along with champion non-livestock exhibits.

Previous Scholarship Winners

2004 Andrea Betts
David VonAhnen
2005 Ashley Huston
2006 Kaleb Appelgate
Missy Merwald
Andrew Burt

Elise Fiscus     
Nick Diers        

Allison Buck

Alison Vandegrift         
James VonAhnen

Matthew Burt   

Gage Fiscus
Austin Nichols

Clint Hilleman

Justin Breja      
Danielle Honeck

Seth Appelgate

Michael Burt
Sarah Butler

Emilee Smith

Hannah Thomae
Michael Hemesath

McKinze Goecke

Katherine Newhouse
Kelsiann Halbloom       

Hunter Wilkening

Blake Edler
Carolyn Edler

Daniel Blom

Hannah Hibbs
Kayla Fisher

Dale Hilleman

Ben Newhouse
Amie Stalzer
Jake Goecke


Madelynn Greene
Alex Halbloom
Kaley Burchland


Evan Espenscheid
Lauren Mosher
Morgan Schuh


Madison Duncan
Leah Mosher
Kaitlin Wiley


Jessley Ash
Colby McMorran
Abigail Green


Ethan Espenscheid
Cody Kline
Emmett Edler
Jarrin Goecke
Cael Kline


Baylee Butler
Laurin Goecke
Adysen Lander
Addy Young


Paityn Peterson
Delaney Runner
Wyatt Weuve

Congratulations to the 2023 Scholarship Award Winners!

Paityn Peterson
Delaney Runner
Wyatt Weuve

Image 1
Paityn Peterson
Image 2
Delaney Runner
Image 3
Wyatt Weuve